Home

This is part two of my summer breakfast series because I simply can’t eat hard-boiled eggs every morning. During fall and winter, oatmeal is an integral part of my morning routine. It’s hearty, easy to make and can be customized to fit anyone’s palate. Oatmeal is so versatile that it can even be enjoyed during the summer. A couple of months ago I discovered Bircher oatmeal, a dish popularized by Swiss physician Maximilian Bircher-Benner, and it has drastically changed my breakfast routine.oats

Using a technique adapted by many different cultures, Bircher oatmeal is made by letting oats soak overnight in yogurt, kefir, milk or any combination of the three. Water is absorbed by the oats, softening them into a rice pudding-like dish. I prefer using steel cut oats(top-left) over the more traditional rolled oats (top-right), also known as old-fashioned, because it gives the oatmeal a chewier texture. Both options are considered whole-grains so don’t feel obligated to use one over the other, but if you like playing with textures, a mix of both also works really well. The oatmeal base is made using a 1:2 ratio of oats and kefir or a 1:1:1 ratio of oats, milk and yogurt. For a single serving of the thick and chewy oatmeal I enjoy, the following proportions work every time:

1/4 cup steel cut oats + 1/2 cup unsweetened kefir

1/4 cup steel cut oats + 1/4 cup nonfat plain Greek yogurt + 1/4 cup skim milk

2 Tbsp old fashioned oats + 2 Tbsp steel cut oats + 1/2 cup unsweetened kefir

steps

The one and only step for making Bircher oats is mixing the ingredients together and storing them in a refrigerator overnight, or for at least six hours. Be sure not to use quick-cooking oats if you plan on letting them sit overnight, as they may get very soggy. This overnight method, like hard-boiling eggs, reduces the burden of cooking in the morning, when one may not be motivated or conscience enough to do so.

My recommendations may sound bland, but that’s because they serve as a base for all of the wonderful things I add when I’m ready to eat. However, if a tart oatmeal doesn’t appeal to you, feel free to use sweetened or flavored kefir, soy milk or yogurt. I’ve made several great batches using vanilla Greek yogurt and strawberry kefir in the base, but my favorite way to add flavor is with toppings. Like hot oatmeal, Bircher oats are excellent when topped with fresh or dried fruit and assorted nuts. By using plain yogurt or kefir and adding your own toppings it’s easy to avoid excessive amounts of added sugar but still have a flavorful, healthy breakfast.

IMG_0357 (800x600)I think I should have used a bigger bowl…

Leave a comment